Finding Your Passion

Though it’s been almost a month since Steve Jobs passed away, I still find myself browsing the many articles, news features and blogs written about the icon. Most recently, I stumbled upon his graduation speech to the Stanford Class of 2005.

Two quotes struck me and were extremely pertinent to life as an SMBA student.

“I’ve looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself, If today were the last day of my life would I want to do what I am about to do today? And whenever the answer has been no for too many days in a row I know I need to change something.”

Chatting with some classmates, I brought up this very quote. The wonderful answer is that most of us would be doing what we are doing if today were the last day. We all made a big change when deciding to do a full time MBA program. We have accepted the challenges of graduate school and the opportunities to better ourselves and gain experiences in the classroom and internationally. Many of us left previous jobs and roles because we knew we needed to change something.

“You have got to find what you love. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work and the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking and don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you will know when you find it. Keep looking. Don’t settle.”

One of the great things about the MBA, Sustainability program is that many are here because sustainability and the environment are truly a passion. Regardless of whether my classmates and I have a known career path after graduation, I think we are on the right track because we have a passion about the topic we are studying. This passion and our education will allow us to do something we truly love.

I am so happy to have grown up in a generation of technology and innovation and have Steve Jobs to thank for much of that. His speech at Stanford, his life at Apple and Pixar, and his death are all reminders to follow your passions and find a way to do what you love. Thanks Steve.

Leave a Reply

