Student Spotlight: Daniel (Dan) Sutton

0

Before Duquesne: Dan attended The Pennsylvania State University where he majored in Architecture.  During his undergraduate education Dan was able to spend a semester abroad in Rome, Italy studying Architecture and Urban Design.  Upon graduation, he received his Bachelor of Architecture, which complimented his previous degree of an A.A.S. in Architectural Design and Drafting from Butler County Community College. Before joining the cohort Dan worked for rue21 as a Store Design Coordinator.  Prior work experience includes intern architect experience with Premier Architecture/JMAC Architects, the Penn State Solar Decathlon Team, and The Foreman Group.

Why Duquesne: “I chose this program over the others for few reasons. The first is that you are obtaining your MBA but there is a strong focus on Sustainability. My background in school primarily focused on sustainable design and I thought this would be a great program to compliment my background if I decide to stay in the field of architecture, or, it could open up new opportunities in a new career field. The second reason was the time, a one-year program. I didn’t want to drag my education out for 3-4 years. I wanted to hit it hard and get it over with in one year. That was definitely a huge selling point for me. Another reason was the faculty. When I visited the school, they had such passion for what they were doing and a passion for sustainability which is near and dear to me.”

Beyond Duquesne: Dan’s goal is to take on a leadership role within any organization whose business strategy supports sustainability and a global call for change.

Leave a Reply

