Dr. Sroufe Aspen Faculty Pioneer Awards Finalist

Our professor, Dr. Robert Sroufe, was recognized in New York City as a 2013 Aspen Faculty Pioneer Award finalist!  Other finalists include, David A. Besanko, Alvin J. Huss Distinguished Professor of Management and Strategy, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University; and Christopher Marquis, Associate Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School, Harvard University.

The Faculty Pioneers winners were Mauro F. Guillén, a professor at the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School of Business who studies management practices in various countries; and Nicola M. Pless, professor at ESADE Business School, Ramon Llull University in Barcelona who researches “Responsible Leadership.”

It is inspiring to see Dr. Sroufe recognized with leaders from top business schools in the world.  We have the honor to work with Dr. Sroufe each week in our Sustainability Theories and Models for Innovation course in the MBA Sustainability program, and we our whole cohort is honored to work with him.

One classmate Angela put it perfectly when we were discussing Dr. Sroufe’s recognition, she said” I am not surprised that Dr.Sroufe was selected among so many great applicants. He is a very motivated man and his passion for sustainability is very inspiring to me as a student. He has opened so many doors for me on the possibilities of sustainable practices, and is enthusiastic about their importance. He has been a true inspiration and is a great role model for what we need in order to achieve a sustainable future.”

In New York, Dr. Sroufe was not only recognized as a finalist, but he also spoke at the two-day program hosted by the Aspen Institute.  He introduced the sustainability curriculum involved with our program; focusing on the Sustainable Theories and Models for Innovation class that has inspired Angela and the rest of our cohort this semester.

For more on Dr. Sroufe and the Faculty Pioneer Award recipients: http://www.aspeninstitute.org/vi/policy-work/business-society/faculty-pioneer-awards



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s